Masking With Smart Objects

February 24, 2010 at 7:17 am (computer art, Digital Art, graphic design, Photoshop tips and tricks) (, , , , , , , , )

Painted in Illustrator then imported into Photoshop

Experimenting with Smart Objects

I created the woven mesh with Illustrator CS4’s blob brush tool, then applied multiple gradients. I overlapped the layers of this weave repeatedly, moving their position so that it created more of a tangled appearance. I recolored some of the layers using Live Color, altering the color order and saturation of colors to add depth. Then I simply selected these layers and copied them via the clipboard into Photoshop as Smart Objects and continued to manipulate them. I used a Mask created from duplicating the blue Channel of an image of a man. I then clicked on this new Channel in the Channels Panel and increased its contrast using Brightness/Contrast and Levels in order to Mask away portions of the woven texture to make it appear as though the man was constructed of this substance. I also painted directly onto this Channel Mask layer with Dodge and Burn and a paintbrush set to Overlay Blending Mode. This helps to add more contrast to the edges of the mask.

Afterwards I continued adding gradients to these layers in Photoshop, and dodged and burned onto the layers themselves. I also used the Liquify filter to tweak the effect.

Visit my website: The Graphic Groove

Or my gallery on Flickr

Return To Gale’s Home Page

2 Comments

  1. shail said,

    great stuff
    …………………………………………..

    i suggest u . u need to secure ur blog

    go here and secure ur blog
    ===========================
    http://www.digitaldevils.co.cc
    ===========================

  2. DB said,

    Hello Gale,

    I’m a big fan of your work and I would like to know the price of purchasing some of the pictures…
    I tried emailing you on flickr & on your graphicgroove email but there was no reply…

    Best Regards,
    Dania

Leave a Reply

