Dragon Art Completed

February 3, 2010 at 8:53 am (computer art, Digital Art, graphic design, Photoshop tips and tricks) (, , , , , , )

Dragons of Asgard book cover design

Finished the book cover

There’s a great satisfaction finishing and delivering a piece of art. After labouring a long time then finally reaching the finish line, it’s like a marathon completed. I’m usually exhausted afterwards, needing time to replenish my creative energy. This book is currently being published and should be available to the public within 2 months. The author is Scott Waring, a writer and teacher currently living in Taiwan.

Combined with teaching and putting together the course lessons for an advanced combined Photoshop / Illustrator class that I’ll be teaching in April, and now overseeing student practicum placements and teaching Illustrator, I’ve had my hands full. But with computers come technical disruptions, which can waste huge chunks of valuable time and add a lot of stress worrying about lost data.

Computer Wouldn’t Boot

Today was one of those dreadful days. I’m not a techy person. This afternoon my computer suddenly wouldn’t boot. It gave me an error message “Reboot or Select Boot Device”, and even after numerous tries it wouldn’t reboot. For those of you who are tech savy you might be smiling, but for me this presented a major time-wasting hurdle. I searched pages of Google forums but could only find a few cryptic nuggets that addressed the issue.

I exhausted the few tricks in my limited arsenal, pressing F8 didn’t help, pressing Ctrl 4 no luck, then I finally saw some small “Del” in the bottom right hand corner of my screen, so tried pressing Delete. This took me to a Menu deep inside the bowels of my computer where I could only use the up and down arrows to scroll through unfriendly-looking tabs until I came to one that said “Boot”. I managed to reset the main Boot drive to my main hard drive. But that in itself was no easy feat because the main hard drive is referred to as PM-WDC WD1200 JB-00 in this menu. Now tell me people, who would have guessed that this number refers to a main hard drive?!! This set me back to Google, where I entered this string of numbers and finally saw something referring to it as a main hard drive.

I decided to live dangerously and try altering the settings to choose this as the main boot drive.

Thought I’d Lost My Data

During those 2 stressful hours I was making a mental note of all the data I’d lose if I couldn’t get the computer to reboot. Although I’d done a recent back up, I hadn’t backed up my Outlook emails where I have all my client and student correspondence including email addresses, correspondence with clients outlining job specs and criteria, plus a lot of other little gems that I’d stored, such as bookmarks to other artists’ websites, etc..

It was a huge relief when my computer finally booted properly. I’m telling this woeful story so that if another unfortunate soul googles those fateful keywords, they might stumble across my blog entry and find the solution. During my google search I saw many others pleading for help with the same issue.

Note to self … first thing tomorrow … must back up email and other miscellaneous gems 🙂

Visit my website: The Graphic Groove

Or my gallery on Flickr

Return To Gale’s Home Page

3 Comments

  1. Elisa Day said,

    Congratulations! I would love to see that book.
    And I hope you have done a back up now 😀

    • galefraney said,

      Hi Elisa,

      Yes, I’ve done the back up. It was very scary, but I felt proud of myself once I finally figured out the solution. Luckily I have another computer from which I was able to do the Google search, but I keep different data on both computers so I would have still lost a fair bit of data if I hadn’t figured out how to reset the boot drive.

      Gale 🙂

  2. Martin LaBar said,

    You are techy enough.

    Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

