Teaching Photoshop

July 4, 2009 at 9:57 pm (Digital Art, graphic design) (, , , , , , , , )

hex

Hex

New Media Web Development Program at BCIT

I’ve been extremely busy over the past few months, juggling a number of new projects, the highlight is teaching Photoshop at BCIT. Students are dedicated, full of enthusiasm, quickly absorbing the techniques, even advanced concepts. The culmination was their final poster project where several students had leapt forward in their skill level, eons ahead of where they had begun at the beginning of the course.

The art above is one that I created one evening when I was putting together a class lesson. I took a slight detour along the way. My only regret is that I didn’t create it in print resolution, the dimensions are for web. But I was just playing with ideas when suddenly a picture began to emerge. It’s far from my usual style. Perhaps I’ve been looking at too much Manga on Deviantart and that style crept into this piece, but it was refreshing doing something different.

I’m also working on another children’s book for Flattenme. It is a lot of fun, this time not only can children’s faces be inserted into the main character, but also there will be an adult man and woman version of the story. Very exciting !

hex_detail

Detail of Hex

Visit my website: The Graphic Groove
Or my gallery on Flickr

Return To Gale’s Home Page

4 Comments

  1. Elisa Day said,

    I would love to been in that class! As always I love your work. What a magic image.

  2. jenn desjardins said,

    Wow! What stunning work!

  3. Arto Ruotsalainen said,

    I love you art work! One can really tell you love to do it too.. that is why it is art. Keep up the good work!

  4. galefraney said,

    Hello Elisa, Jenn and Arto, thanks for your kind comments. Photoshop is so much fun. I’ve been spending time trying to master Illustrator and it is a great software, but Photoshop will always be my main love. Vectors are great … but pixels are divine !

Leave a Reply

