The Dove

January 29, 2009 at 6:34 am (computer art, Digital Art, Photoshop tips and tricks) (, , , , , , , )

the_dove

The Dove

I just finished this digital art. It took about 4 days. I really enjoyed piecing together the character, who is comprised of so many bits and pieces of digital photos that in the end she becomes a purely fictional character. I really enjoy the challenge of creating someone who is entirely different from all of the components that go into making it. The eyes alone are comprised of 4 images, the hair from 3, the nose from 2 images (the bridge is from one photo and the bottom portion with nostrils from another). The mouth is from 2 separate images, then further changed wtih the Liquify Filter. The forehead is made from 2 images, the ears from another 2, the chin from another. The neck, shoulders and arms are from more than 8 separate images. The dress is made in Photoshop from tiny bits and pieces then molded into a new shape.

the_dove_detail1

Close Up Details

Another Crash? — You Think I’d Learn By Now

I had worked on the dress for hours and lost track of the time. I was distorting (Edit / Transform / Distort) and rotating layers wtih Masks attached. Suddenly I got the dreaded message that there was insufficient RAM and Photoshop went down like the Titanic. I felt numb and exhausted. I couldn’t remember what stage I had last saved the PSB document, so I had to wait in suspense until the file reopened, to discover that the entire dress was lost and I had to rebuild it all over again. It was already late, so I decided to go to bed and redo it the next day. I’m not sure whether I prefer the earlier version or this final version … the first version had some very intricate details of lace. But I try to see the bright side, each time I redo something I get more practice in Photoshop.

I’m still using CS3. I bought CS4 but in order to install it, I have to do some major hard drive housekeeping and clear out a bunch of files because I’ve used almost the entire hard drive. I purchased the Creative Suite, Master Edition that has all Adobe programs including the video and sound applications. These will take up a lot of hard drive space to install.

Visit my website: The Graphic Groove
Or my gallery on Flickr

Return To Gale’s Home Page

5 Comments

  1. Mark said,

    I am really enjoying your blog. I didn’t know that your images were montages. I thought you hand drew them. This gives me hope. I had done my first one about 3 weeks ago. It took a very long time but it was very fun and rewarding.

    I have a question. Do you have any videos of you doing one of your pieces? I would really enjoy watching the process. I am fascinated by the fact that the woman is made up of so many pieces.

    If not, what would you say is your favorite resource for learning how to do what you are doing?

    Thanks!

  2. Elisa Day said,

    another amazing image! I cant belive how anyone can do that kind of images! Its like magic, I love you images.

  3. Martin LaBar said,

    Well done. I like the plants on the ground.

  4. Michelle Filo said,

    Just stunning Gale 🙂

  5. galefraney said,

    Hi Elisa, thanks for your inspiring comment!

    Martin, Thanks!

    Michelle, Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

