Making Hanukkah Cards

September 7, 2008 at 10:33 am (computer art, Digital Art, Photoshop tips and tricks) (, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , )

Hanukkah Card Final Version

This Is The Version That Flattenme.com Has Chosen For Their Card Series Series

Several Different Versions

This card took four days to complete and went through a number of changes before arriving at the final version. I am very curious to hear which one you prefer, regarding visual elements, colors or any other aspect.

I wanted to keep true to traditions so I first did some research on the internet to find out how the menorah is lit and to learn other facts about Hanukkah. I searched Google to see what other Hanukkah cards were available. I was surprised to find very few, mostly clip art images of menorahs and the Star Of David.  I wasn’t able to find many ideas so I chose to focus on the menorah.

I was reluctant to add whimsical elements as I had done with the Christmas cards, where I weave an assortment of mice, birds and animals into the scenes. Hanukkah seems more traditional and I thought it was unlikely that mice prancing through the scene would be appropriate, so the challenge was to find a way to sweeten the image in subtle ways.

First Version

This Version Was Too “Christmasy”?

Second Version

This Version’s Colors Weren’t Meshing

And here is the boy version of the same card. People who order the card will send a photo of their own child’s face which will be inserted into the card to personalize it, so most cards include boy and girl versions.

Boy Version of Hanukkah Card

Visit my website: The Graphic Groove
Or my gallery on Flickr

Return To Gale’s Home Page

3 Comments

  1. Martin LaBar said,

    I agree with Flattenme.com, I guess, although it’s close between that and the one you prefer.

  2. открытки ханука | Все картинки рунета said,

    […] открытки ханука galefraney.wordpress.com […]

  3. las vegas copies said,

    Hi and thank you for a great article content. I really just love your blog. I will bookmark it and come back for more.

Leave a Reply

