Danielle’s Dragon

May 27, 2008 at 3:38 am (computer art, Digital Art, Photoshop tips and tricks) (, , , , , , , , , , , , )

Danielle’s Dragon

I worked on this image for 4 days. It took more than 50 hours in total, longer than most because I had to build the dragon piece by piece. I composited digital images of iguanas, a monitor lizard, crocodile, and even some giraffe fur samples for the dappled effect on the wings. The fox is also comprised of many different pieces. I built several different backgrounds and foregrounds until I was finally satisfied with this version. I love building backgrounds and spend hours adusting and tweaking even the smallest bits of foliage. This one is made of at least 40 or more images.

People have asked me how I extract the tree leaves against the sky. The method I often use is a combination of contast and Blending Modes. For the dark leaves I first adusted the image’s Levels and Curves, maximizing contrast. Then I overlayed the image using the Multiply Blending Mode.

This piece is made for my friend Martine, of her daughter, Danielle.

Visit my website: The Graphic Groove
Or my gallery on Flickr

Return To Gale’s Home Page

3 Comments

  1. Ramón Cue said,

    Hi my name is Ramon Cue and I am a fan art and painting. I think that your works are wonderful and very original, I love your pictures. I think that this world that child pints of atmosphere of fantasy and a touch surreal is really interesting. Bravo!. My drawings and paintings are not digital, but perhaps you like. Only work for free to friends or family, but I like to be seen. Sincerely yours.

    (Hola me llamo Ramón Cue y soy un aficionado al Arte y a la pintura. Opino que tu obra es magnifica y muy original, me encantan tus cuadros. Creo que ese mundo infantil que pintas de ambiente de fantasía y alguna pincelada surrealista es verdaderamente interesante. Bravo!. Mis dibujos y pinturas no son digitales pero quizás te gusten. Solo trabajo gratuitamente para amigos o familiares, pero me gusta que sean vistos. Un cordial saludo).

    http://www.flickr.com/photos/ramoncue/

  2. galefraney said,

    Thank you Ramon! 🙂

  3. The Bang Pop » destroyer of the void : playlist + new remix said,

    […] Must listen : Heaven and Earth,  Dragon’s Song and a new remix of “Dragon’s Song” by Michael Bruce… michael bruce – blitzen trapper remix michael bruce Download Share Find Blitzen Trapper on Facebook or follow them on Twitter Tour Info here ! Picture Credit: Gale Franey […]

Leave a Reply

