The World Is But A Dream

January 1, 2008 at 5:46 am (computer art, Digital Art, Photoshop tips and tricks) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Happy New Year Everyone!


Ah … The World Is But A Dream

I’ve had 10 days off from school, a vacation … but have spent most of my time pouring over Actionscript 3 tutorials. I was maybe a bit overly optimistic, thinking that with leisure time to concentrate I would easily grasp the concepts and syntax … wrong! I’m not sure why it just isn’t sticking to my brain. All those variables, functions, event handlers, curly brackets, square brackets for arrays, quotation marks around strings, trace statements … all rolling around in my brain from morning to night, but somehow all the bits and pieces just don’t seem to coalesce into a whole. It’s a bit of a nightmare because I absolutely love Flash, as much as I love Photoshop and I’m determined to learn it.

In fact, it is my New Year’s resolution for 2008.

I WILL LEARN Flash Actionscript 3, do or die …. 🙂

The past few days and nights I’ve spent working on this latest digital art piece. I worked during the day, then stayed up all night until, can you believe, 12 noon the following day before dropping into bed. Then the following day I did the same thing, working many hours during the day then again all night long, until finally finishing it at 5:30 a.m the following morning. I mustn’t have realized how tired I was because I somehow managed to save a flattened version overtop of my layered PSD file, which I always like to keep for future reference or touch ups. I don’t know how my fingers managed to slip on the keys, pressing CMD/S instead of Save As , but I only realized what I’d done after I closed Photoshop, so I was unable to recover the layered PSD. I just shrugged my shoulders and went to bed.

At Least it’s Better Than Losing the Entire File by Neglecting to Save

This actually happened when I was making Farewell to Summer (ok, I admit, it also happened in the early stages of this one too, but I hadn’t yet fully formed the character, so it was no major catastrophe). When I’m in ‘the zone’, I’m in such a state of concentration that such little niggling details are the farthest thing from my mind. Especially when my file balloons to over 2 gigs, and I have to sit and twiddle my thumbs while the progress bar crawls for several minutes and my creative mood dwindles. But after the first little scare I meticulously saved every 20 minutes.

Well it’s back to the Actionscript tutorials for me. It’s 11 p.m. on New Year’s Eve. While others are raising their glasses to toast the New Year, I’ll be muddling through stacks of code.

Visit my website: The Graphic Groove
Or my gallery on Flickr

Return To Gale’s Home Page

1 Comment

  1. Martin LaBar said,

    All the best with the Actionscript. It’s doable.

Leave a Reply

