The Book Is Launched

October 10, 2007 at 8:51 pm (computer art, Digital Art) (, , , , , , , , , , , )

Detailed View Book Page – Sprite Fairy

Term 2 at the college has just finished. I have a few days off before Term 3 begins. It’s such a relief to be half way through the year. The course load is unbelievably heavy. So many nights have been spent at my computer, working until 4 in the morning or longer. I’m somehow surviving on a regular diet of energy drinks. Redbull and Sobe have become daily staples and have pulled me through many exams on less than 3 hours of sleep.

The first 3 days of my vacation were spent sleeping. Although it is being called a one-week vacation, students are still scrambling to finish the Javascript component, so it really isn’t time off, just time where we can focus on one one course without having the intrusion of so many conflicting software, techniques, coding rules, protocols, etc.

Children’s Book Launched

Earlier this year, before school started, I was working on a series of digital illustrations for a children’s book that has just been launched by http://www.flattenme.com The website belongs to the company who commissioned me to do the images for one of the books in their series (The Tuesday Mushroom King). Other books in their collection were done by various artists.

Books are available in both girl and boy versions. Customers can upload an image of their own child’s face, which is then swapped for the book’s main character’s face. In addition, the customer’s child’s name is placed throughout the book and becomes the main character of the book. A personalized dedication of the customer’s choice is put into the front of the book for the child. The book becomes fully personalized for a child. This is a wonderful concept.

To make sure there’s no confusion, please note that the book belongs to the company who commissioned me to do the art for one of the books in their series. I am not part of the company selling the books. I do not receive any commission from sales of their books.

Here are some sample portions of images from the book:

Tuesday Mushroom King Cover (Girl Version)

Detailed View Book Page – Mouse

Visit my website: The Graphic Groove
Or my gallery on Flickr

Return To Gale’s Home Page

4 Comments

  1. me said,

    that’s some of the worst photoshop I’ve ever seen. you could do better with a scissors and paper! I think you should donate your expensive PC to a deserving artist. Sharp section, blurry sections, harsh edges and then super soft ones. Really bad dude. Keep practicing the photopgraphy- you might learn a little something about light. And you have the cheek to offer tutorials! HAHAHA!!!oneoneone!!

  2. galefraney said,

    Hello “Me”,

    Your comment does not seem to be productive because you do not offer any constructive suggestions. You do not identify yourself, but instead hide anonymously, which would indicate that your comment is made maliciously. You do not list your website to demonstrate that you are a either a digital artist or photographer with a skill set to back your harsh words or your platform to pass this kind of serious judgement. The only identification that is provided through WordPress is your IP address and when I look this up I find a name located in Ireland, who I’ll assume must be you.

    The image you are looking at is compressed for web viewing. I do not post high quality versions of my work online.

    I can see that you’ve not learned how to deliver a critique, which makes me conclude that you have not attended art or photography courses, where participants critique one another’s work constructively, for example “your edges need refining, have your tried such & such method of masking using this particular alpha channel selection technique, then elaborate the alternate method that you think is better”. When people offer this type of critiques, I take their suggestions seriously and try to implement them into my future digital art.

    Cheers,

    Gale Franey

  3. kat said,

    I think this is so lovely! And the graphics are amazing! blessings!

  4. punit said,

    plz give butiful photo in the world

Leave a Reply

